POE Semester 1 2010-2011


Week 18 and 19
Monday, December 13
Tuesday, December 14
Wednesday, December 15
Thursday, December 16
Friday, December 17
Monday, December 20 (Periods 1,3,5,7 Finals)
Tuesday, December 21 (Periods 2,4,6,8 Finals)
Wednesday, December 22 (Last Day of Semester 1)


Week 16
Monday, November 29
-finish recycling ppt
-activity 2.2.3

Tuesday, November 30
-activity 2.2.3

Wednesday, December 1 (2 hour late start)
-finish section 2.2

Thursday, December 2
-2.3 essential questions
-material testing ppt
-activity 2.3.2 tensile testing

Friday, December 3
-activity 2.3.2 tensile testing

Week 15
Monday, November 22
-finish activity 2.2.1

Tuesday, November 23
-activity 2.2.2

Wednesday, November 24 (1 Hour Early Dismissal)
-activity 2.2.2

Week 14
Monday, November 15
-finish truss buildling

Tuesday, November 16
-test truss designs

Wednesday, November 17
-Activity 2.2.1

Thursday, November 18
-2.2.1

Friday, November 19
-Activity 2.2.1

Week 13
Monday, November 8
-activity 2.1.7 calculating truss forces

Tuesday, November 9
-finish activity 2.1.7
-discuss project 2.1.8 truss design

Wednesday, November 10 (2 hour late start)
-project 2.1.8 truss design

Thursday, November 11
-build truss 1 and 2

Friday, November 12
-research truss designs, start building truss 3


Week 12
Monday, November 1
-finish activity 2.1.2 Beam Deflection
-free body diagrams notes
-Activity 2.1.3 FBD

Tuesday, November 2
-finish activity 2.1.3 FBD
-force vectors notes
-Activity 2.1.4 Calculating Force Vectors

Wednesday, November 3
-Finish activity 2.1.4
-moments notes
-Activity 2.1.5 Calculating Moments

Thursday, November 4
-finish activity 2.1.5
-calculating truss forces notes
-Activity 2.1.6 Step-by-Step Truss System

Friday, November 5
-No School

Week 11 (first week of Quarter 2)
Monday, October 25
-2.1 essential questions
-career field description

Tuesday, October 26
-finish career field description
-intro to statics

Wednesday, October 27
-centroids
-Activity 2.1.1 Centroids (in computer lab)

Thursday, October 28
-finish activity 2.1.1 Centroids (in computer lab)

Friday, October 29
-intro to structural member properties
-Activity 2.1.2 Beam Deflection

Week 10 (last week of Quarter 1)
Monday, October 18
-work on project

Tuesday, October 19
-work on project

Wednesday, October 20
-No School

Thursday, October 21
-work on project, due Friday

Friday, October 22
-project due, discuss

Week 9
Monday, October 11 (2 hour late start)
-start project 1.4

Tuesday, October 12
-work time

Wednesday, October 13
-work time

Thursday, October 14
-work time

Friday, October 15
-work time

Week 8
Monday, October 4
-Act. 1.3.3

Tuesday, October 5
-Act. 1.3.4 Renewable insulation

Wednesday, October 6
-work

Thursday, October 7
-work

Friday, October 8
-work, finish Monday

Week 7
Monday, September 27
-1-3 essential questions
-hydrogen fuel cell.ppt
-Activity 1.3.1 and 1.3.1a

Tuesday, September 28
-work on activity

Wednesday, September 29
-work on activity

Thursday, September 30
-finish activity

Friday, October 1
-Intro to thermo
-Act. 1.3.3

Week 6
Monday, September 20
-finish act. 1.2.3 electrical circuits

Tuesday, September 21
-finish act. 1.2.3 electrical circuits

Wednesday, September 22
-activity 1.2.4 circuit calculations

Thursday, September 23
-work, energy and power.ppt
-activity 1.2.5a mechanical efficiency of a winch

Friday, September 24
-activity 1.2.5 mechanical efficiency


Week 4
Monday, September 6
-No School

Tuesday, September 7
-work on compound machines

Wednesday, September 8
-calculate total mechanical advantage, finish sketch making sure to label and include measurements, finish filling out sheet given on Friday.

Thursday, September 9
-no class due to cross country

Friday, September 10
-analyze compound machines
-finish section 1.1

Week 3
Monday, August 30
-Act. 1.1.2 practice problems
-Gears, Pulley Drives and Sprockets

Tuesday, August 31
-Activity 1.1.3 Gears

Wednesday, September 1
-Activity 1.1.4 Pulley Drives and Sprockets
-Crossword due

Thursday, September 2
-Activity 1.1.5 Gears, Pulley Drives and Sprockets Practice Problems

Friday, September 3
-Project 1.1.6 Compound Machine Design

Week 2
Monday, August 23
-Simple machines; lever, wheel and axle, pulley
-1.1 terms crossword
-start activity 1.1.1 Simple Machine Investigation part 1

Tuesday, August 24
-work on part 1

Wednesday, August 25
-finish part 1

Thursday, August 26
-Activity 1.1.1 part 2

Friday, August 27
-work on part 2

Week 1
Thursday, August 19
-Introduction to POE
-1.1 Essential Questions
-1-1 essential questions.doc

Friday, August 20
-Careers in Engineering
-Professional Interview Activity and Rubric (moodle)